Mark Making Reasearch

All of these artists are new to me. Of the list of references provided the practitioners who really resonated and excited me were Roanna Wells and Hillary Ellis. 

I love the slow, hand stitched, simple, repetitive stitch and marks of Roanna Wells and felt there was something magical going on. I particularly liked a piece in which she had interpreted a note written to her by her mother when she was child, saying ‘sew like the wind’. To me, her work is sensitivity and emotion. So clever.

Her sketchbooks were incredibly useful: https://uk.pinterest.com/source/roannawellssketchbook.tumblr.com

and the resulting stitched pieces quite mind blowing. I will try to be inspired rather than intimidated! But wow.

I was now starting to realise that the initial starting point/object could become almost unrecognisable during the process and that it is ok if this happens.

Then I went on to look at Hilary Ellis and was equally awestruck. I love the subtle use of colour in some of her work. Both this artists are so talented in knowing just how much is enough. Their work is so delicate and haunting.

I am completely in awe. The way the stitches are so subtle and suggestive is breathtaking.

I am ashamed to say I had never heard of Louis Bourgeois. I will be spending more time looking at her sculptures and prints

and I adore her etchings….a style I will definitely be experimenting with.

lb etching

If I am honest, Alison Carlier, Michael Giffiths and Alex Chalmers work left me feeling confused and out of my depth!

http://weareoca.com/fine-art/jerwood-drawing-prize-2014/

Katie Sollohubs wonderful loose charcoal drawings

katie.jpg

Debbie Smyths pin and thread drawings are incredible. They look as though they just happen.The movement, spontaneity and looseness they convey, yet so carefully planned and plotted pin by pin.

debbie smyth1

I discovered that Debbie was part of a local project at Somerset College a few years ago. Living in a rural part of Somerset exhibition visits take a bit of organising. I am hoping that this course will open my eyes to more artists and events. I’ve really enjoyed this initial research.

 

 

 

Leave a comment