To be honest i really want to move on from this part. I have sat on it for a year and feel frustrated as so much has happened in my home life leaving me with very little time to work on this. I had so many ideas in my head about how i would present this and the work i would do and feel disappointed as i am not happy with the work i’ve done. I think from now on I will think less and be more productive in a step by step way instead of reading through the whole project way in advance and making elaborate plans. I am pleased with how the yarn wrap came out , in particular the section focusing in the womans back and hair, in pinks, creams and pale green. I am finding that quite a large volume of thinking, gathering and working needs to be done in order to come out with one piece of work that i am happy with. With reagrds to the final presentation of selected work, i am happy with the yarn wraps and colour extension. By the time I got to the watercolour and collage i really felt i had been almost trapped inside this project and just want to move on. I struggled with it not being so textile related but ithink if i came back to it at a later date, not feeling so stuck and rushed I would get more out of it.

22281259_10156571629669688_1872819465_oI am happy with this simple collage of the corner of lace piled up. Its very textural and i find the colours pleasing. I have decided i do prefer neutral natural colours, of the earth, sky, forests and stone.

The book that i made took a long time to decorate the cover, having painted papers, then tearing and gluing, repainting and adding sparkley bits and I would have been better spending that time on the content! I did enjoy making the book cover but on reflection something simple would work better as it is not conected with the content at all I just wanted to make a colourful paper collaged book cover which i am not all that thrilled with as it has no context.

 

The watercolour project was enjoyable and although i felt rushed and didn’t spend the time id liked to on it i did learn something as although i have worked with watercolours before ive not tried to keep a record of which colours i am mixing in order to reproduce them exactly at a later date.  I found it difficult to be structured and note how to mix the colours. The guache paints were easier to keep track of what i was using and what proportion. Because the shades of the glasses were so varied yet similar i ended up just getting into it in a relaxed way and mixing as i went on a large pallet. letting the colours run into each other on the pallet was pleasing and produced a good array of similar tones.

22279027_10156571628154688_1343930120_oI was happy with the yarn wraps, i really enjoyed working on them and look forward to working with these gorgeous colours further. Perhaps some colour chips alongside and better quality enlarged images would be better.

22290816_10156571627744688_1871089527_o

 

Some labels alongside the colour extension chips should have been included. I have notes of these in my sketchbook. I enjoyed this using gauche, it has a glorious pure texture and it straight forward to mix colours. I was surprised how many colours are in what looks like a really simple print. I collected a number of fabrics for this project, contacting suppliers for samples and getting lost in internet images. I really am drawn to vintage pieces and also anything which draws its references from the past. I spent a lot of time reading about Morris prints and the history of the designs and thinking about how innovative the print and dye processes were for the time. I love the colours produced by woad and indigo in particular and would like to look into all this further at some point. I am drawn very much to finding out more about dyeing processes, natural plant dyes, eco printing etc. I grow a lot of plants and am interested in herbs and wild plants/’weeds’ and would like to investigate their uses in textile art.

22323621_10156571628779688_1898152875_oI should have included colour chips alongside the collages. It would also make them easier to use as a starting colour reference at a later date.

Overall, Although I don’t feel i put my all into this project, it didn’t resonate all that well with me and as it sat around for so long i am keen to start the next project. I do feel it will be a useful and inspiring colour resource for future projects on the whole though.

As usual i spent a respectable amount of time trawling happily on pinterest and totally wish i had created something like Sibella Courts interior design colour resources. She has such a gift with using colour to create moods. I wish i had been more inventive and produced a colour resouse book that was more arty. I think mine looks quite naive.

sib

 

Leave a comment